Bryan Herta Autosport Wins TCR Team Championship; Hyundai Scores PWC TCR Manufacturers’ Title

Lewis, Wilkins Place 2nd and 3rd in TCR Drivers’ Points in 2018
WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (Sept. 2, 2018) – It was Championship Sunday at Watkins Glen International in the final TCR race of the 2018 Pirelli World Challenge road racing series, and, at the end of the Round 12 40-minute sprint race, it was Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian scoring the TCR Team title and Hyundai taking the TCR Manufacturers’ championship.
After 12 races in the 2018 TCR campaign, the BHA squad secured the top spot in the Team Standings with a 12-point margin (284-272) with drivers Michael Lewis and Mark Wilkins leading the way in the No. 98 BHA Hyundai i30 N TCR and No. 99 BHA Hyundai i30 N TCR cars, respectively.
PHOTO: Rick Dole
In the TCR Manufacturers’ battle, Hyundai came home with the championship with a 115-103 victory over Honda.
Both Lewis and Wilkins entered Sunday’s TCR finale with chances for the Drivers’ Championship with Lewis starting from the pole position and Wilkins starting fourth. However, both BHA competitors were hampered in the final race with mechanical issues.
Lewis had to pit early for repairs and came back to finish fifth at the Sunday’s TCR checkered flag. In addition, Lewis set the race’s fastest lap with a one minute, 58.058 seconds for an average speed of 102.82 miles per hour.  Meanwhile, Wilkins’ Hyundai i30 N TCR battled for second early in the 18-lap feature, but Mark had to retire his mount after 13 laps.
“I got a great start and the car was running well,” said Lewis, a four-time race winner. “But we lost power and I had to pit. The Bryan Herta Autosport guys got to the problem quickly and I was able get back out on the track without losing a lap. I fought my way back up to fifth and collected some points. Overall, I’m very proud to be part of a championship effort like BHA in winning the team title as well as taking Hyundai to the Manufacturers’ championship. It was a super season.”
Wilkins was a three-time race winner this year and placed third in the final drivers points behind TCR champion Ryan Eversley and Lewis.
“Despite not finishing the race today, I still feel very excited to bring home the TCR Manufacturers’ title for Hyundai as well as the Team championship for Bryan Herta Autosport,” said Wilkins. “The team won seven races of the 12-event series in the first year in the Pirelli World Challenge TCR tour. There were a lot of great moments this year and taking two championships home was the crowning achievement.”
In the final Drivers’ points, Eversley finished with 276 followed by Lewis at 259 and Wilkins at 229.
All of the Pirelli World Challenge champions will be honored on December 5 in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *