About Bryan Herta Autosport

Founded in 2009, Bryan Herta Autosport (BHA) has grown from a single car Indy-Lights team into a 2x Indy 500 and 4x Sports Car championship winning auto racing franchise.

Led by INDYCAR and Sports Car star Bryan Herta, BHA has won races in every discipline they’ve entered, including Indy Lights, Indy Car, Global RallyCross, Pirelli World Challenge and IMSA.

BHA rose to prominence after winning the 2011 Indianapolis 500 in what was the final race of the Centennial Era, a celebration of 100 years of racing at The Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with driver Dan Wheldon. Five years later, BHA partnered with Andretti Autosport, and defied the odds again, winning their second Indianapolis 500 with rookie driver Alexander Rossi. This too was a win for the history books, as it was the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500.

BHA entered the Global RallyCross Championship in 2015 under the name Bryan Herta Rallysport, scoring multiple podiums and wins.

In 2018, BHA entered the American Sports Car scene beginning its immensely successful partnership with Hyundai. Together, BHA and Hyundai have won four championships in as many seasons, including three consecutive team and driver championships, and two consecutive (2020, 2021) manufacturer’s titles in IMSA’s Michelin Pilot Challenge. 

BHA continued its successful partnership with Andretti Autosport fielding the #98 U.S. Concrete Honda with Curb Agajanian in the IndyCar series for driver Marco Andretti in the 2019 and 2020 IndyCar Championship.  Another memorable Indy 500 achievement, Andretti qualified for the pole position at the 2020 Indianapolis 500, posting an average speed of 231.068MPH—the first time an Andretti had sat on the pole for the Indy 500 since his grandfather Mario in 1987.  

Bryan Herta Autosport – Hyundai Competition Timeline

2018:  BHA entered the Pirelli World Challenge in partnership with Hyundai and dominated the TCR class, winning seven races with drivers #98 Michael Lewis and #99 Mark Wilkins in the Hyundai i30N TCR, securing the team and manufacturers championships in the process.

2019: BHA and Hyundai enter the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge (IMPC), campaigning the Hyundai Veloster N TCR and swept the 2019 Driver and Team championships. Drivers Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis finished first in the #98 Hyundai Veloster N TCR, and Harry Gottsacker and Mason Filippi finished second in the #21 Hyundai Veloster N TCR.

2020: BHA expands to a four-car entry in the IMPC, with IndyCar veteran Gabby Chaves and Indy Lights race winner Ryan Norman joining the squad to drive the #33 Veloster N TCR, and Sports Car endurance champion Parker Chase and Spencer Brockman in the #19 Vertical Bridge Veloster N TCR.  Harry Gottsacker returned to drive with Mark Wilkins in the #21 Veloster N TCR, and Mason Filippi and Michael Lewis paired in the #98 Veloster N TCR.  A very successful effort overall led to a BHA 1,2,3 sweep in the series Championship and Hyundai winning the Manufacturers title.  Chaves and Norman scored three victories to win the championship. Harry Gottsacker and Mark Wilkins won twice and finished second in the standings. Mason Filippi and Michael Lewis also scored a pair of victories and finished third.  Brockman and Chase finished on the podium four times in 2020 and finished sixth in the series rankings.

2021:  Bryan Herta Autosport debuts Hyundai’s newest racer, the Elantra N TCR. Taylor Hagler joins BHA, paired with Michael Lewis in the #77 Hyundai Veloster N TCR.  Series standouts Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson join BHA to race the #54 Hyundai Veloster N TCR from Audi.  2020 Champion, Ryan Norman and Parker Chase join forces to drive the #98 Hyundai Elantra N TCR and Harry Gottsacker and Mark Wilkins return as co-drivers in the #33 Hyundai Elantra N TCR.  Just three races into the 2021 season, Ryan Norman and Parker Chase win for the first time in the Elantra N TCR in North America with their victory at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.  Taylor Hagler becomes the first woman to win a TCR race in North America when she and Michael Lewis scored their first victory as teammates, after a string of four consecutive podium finishes.  Recognized as one of Forbes “Top 20 Sports Stories of the Year,” IndyCar star Robert Wickens attends a track day with the BHA in May.  It was the first time Wickens drove a race car after a horrific IndyCar accident in 2018 left him paralyzed.  Michael Johnson, a paralyzed racer offered his hand-controlled #54 Universal Coating Veloster TCR to Wickens for the track day.  The team packs another 1-2 punch in the series standings, when Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis make history with their series title. Consistency paid off, with one win and six podium finishes, Hagler became the first woman ever to win a Michelin Pilot Challenge Title and Michael Lewis became the first two-time TCR champion.  Parker Chase finished second with one win and three podiums alongside Ryan Norman.  Johnson and Simpson podiumed twice, including their third-place finish at the season opener.  A notable result for BHA and Hyundai as it was the first time a Hyundai finished on the podium at the famed Daytona International Speedway.  The duo finished fifth in the series rankings.  Gottsacker and Wilkins season was highlighted with a win at Hyundai’s home race, the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.  The pair finished fifth in the Championship.

2022:  BHA expands to six Hyundai Elantra N TCR entries in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge.  Defending series Champions Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis return to race the #1 entry.  2020 Champion Ryan Norman joins forces with BHA newcomer and 2018 Olympian AJ Muss in the #2 Elantra N TCR. Robert Wickens joins the team full-time for his first season of racing since becoming paralyzed in 2018 and will drive with fellow Canadian and 2019 Champion Mark Wilkins.  Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson are back in the #54 Universal Coating Elantra N TCR, and Mason Filippi returns to BHA alongside young gun, 17-year-old Tyler Maxson in the #77 Elantra N TCR.  Texans Harry Gottsacker and Parker Chase team up to race the #98 Elantra N TCR.  End of season update: Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis win the 2022 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge title with one victory and seven podium finishes.  The history making back-to-back titles make Hagler the first woman in North America to win two TCR titles and Lewis the first driver ever to win three TCR titles in North America.  The pair finish the season ranked 27th in the world (out of 640+ drivers), and Hagler the highest ranked female TCR driver worldwide.  Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson’s late season hot streak resulted in third in the series standings.  Harry Gottsacker broke the series record for pole position when he scored his sixth TCR pole at Hyundai’s home race, the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Challenge at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.  The pair also scored a victory at Mid-Ohio and finished fifth in the series standings.  Robert Wickens and Mark Wilkins kicked off the season on the podium at Daytona and scored two popular victories and a pole position over the course of the season.  Mason Filippi and Tyler Maxson had the most poles of the season with four, in addition to their two podium finishes. The pair finished eighth in the series standings.  AJ Muss and Ryan Norman finished third at Watkins Glen.  Although the pair were fast all season, they were forced to settle for 11th overall.

Bryan Herta Autosport is the U.S. sales agent and parts support representative of Hyundai TCR and TCA race cars for customer teams.  For more information, visit www.BryanHertaAutosport.com/veloster-n.


Contact Us