New Cars, New Drivers, New Season for Three-Time Champions Bryan Herta Autosport

Bryan Herta Autosport
Round 1 of the 2022 IMSA MICHELIN Pilot Challenge
January 26-28, 2022
Racetrack: Daytona International Speedway
3.56-mile “Roval”- features 12 turns
Race: Friday, January 28, 2022 at 1:35pm ET
TV: Live on NBC’s PEACOCK:
Listen: Live on IMSA Radio at
Live updates are available throughout the weekend on BHA social media and
A Triumphant Return: Robert Wickens will take the green flag on Friday for the first time since his IndyCar accident over three years ago. Robert’s relentless commitment to recovery made his laser focused goals of racing again become a reality. Robert will contest the full IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge TCR championship driving alongside fellow Candian Mark Wilkins.
#1: For the first time in the series history, the #1 will be in competition. Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis are the defending TCR Champions and will proudly carry the #1. Their history making championship season in 2021 included one victory and five podium finishes. They missed the podium by three-hundredths of a second in their debut as teammates at Daytona in 2021. Hagler went on to become the first woman ever to win the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge title and Lewis became the first two-time TCR Champion in the Series history.
One Year Ago: Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson made their debut with Bryan Herta Autosport at this event one year ago and produced Hyundai’s first ever podium finish at the famed Daytona International Speedway. Johnson and Simpson switched to the Elantra N TCR for their sophomore season with BHA and will vie for their third straight podium finish at the season opener.
Growth: Coming off of their third consecutive IMSA title, Bryan Herta Autosport has expanded from four cars to six Elantra N TCR entries in 2022. The team welcomes three new drivers, AJ Muss, Robert Wickens and Tyler Maxson. Hyundai driver Mason Filippi is back racing under the BHA banner for 2022 after a year away racing for Hyundai at Copeland Motorsports.
Strategizing Daytona: The IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge race will feature 40 cars on track and two race classes, GS and TCR. The Hyundai Elantra N TCR cars are expected to make 4 pitstops, consume 92 gallons of VP Racing fuel and use 14 Michelin tires over the course of the four-hour race.
Did You Know? There are over three miles of wire in the seven wiring looms in each Elantra N TCR Car, some of which are created by BHA Data Acquisition Engineers. These looms transmit driver identification, car class position, in-car video, timing transponders, the integrated drink system, the caution light indicator and the radio.
NOTES: There will be a press conference with Robert Wickens and Bryan Herta in the DIS media center at 3:45 on Thursday, January 27th at 3:45pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *