Filippi and Wilkins Lead Hyundai 1-2 finish at Laguna Seca

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca – Mason Filippi and Mark Wilkins prevailed to win the Laguna Seca 120, the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge race at the Motul Course de Monterey Powered by Hyundai N on Saturday. Teammates Harry Gottsacker and Robert Wickens were second and defending champions, Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis finished sixth.
The #98 Elantra N TCR drivers are on a hot streak, Filippi and Wilkins have finished on the podium at every race this season and now lead the IMPC standings. Mason Filippi qualified second and drove the first 50 minutes before turning over the cockpit to Mark Wilkins who scored his second victory at Laguna Seca in front of more than 200 Hyundai owners and executives, his previous victory at Laguna was in 2021.
Mason Filippi: “We just won Hyundai’s home race at Laguna Seca! Not only do we have the whole country supporting us from Hyundai USA, but also really cool to see how many N owners we had out here. We talked to so many today and love their support, it is really awesome.”
Mark Wilkins: “Winning at Hyundai’s home race always adds some inspiration. I know I felt that when we won a few years ago. So, coming in today I knew we had a good car. Mason did such a good job and we’ve had so much support from everybody, and our guys just executed. We have had good momentum with our first two podiums this year. We’ve just had a good vibe in our camp, so we’re having fun. Whenever you have fun and it’s just kind of more chill, things start happening and going the right way. I think that’s why we have had some early success this year. We definitely had a little luck today, we almost got caught up in that late wreck, so sometimes you have to have that little bit of luck. Great result for Hyundai and a great result for Bryan Herta Autosport. I am so excited for Watkins Glen!”
Full report to follow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *